Saturday, August 19, 2017

11 Best Post-Apocalyptic Novels

Post-apocalyptic fiction has become increasingly popular recently, especially in the horror and action genres. For some reason, the idea of civilization collapsing and people struggling to survive the aftermath appeals to us. Maybe it's our savage nature or a sense that life has become too easy, but we like to imagine the world that might come after we're gone. Here are the eleven best novels set after a potential world-ending event.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Why Content Mills Are Bad For Writers [Rant]

A while back, I talked about how I wished there was a "Uber for writers," a place for on-demand work where writers could earn quick cash by banging out short stories and novels for customers. Well, my mistake was thinking of fiction, because it turns out there are services online for writers to produce nonfiction on demand. Quite a few of them, in fact. And they all suck, at least for writers.

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Sample Sunday: "The Wonderful WonderWoods"

The Wonderful WonderWoods, the fifth and final part of the "TOONS" series, is now available on Amazon. Here's a sample:

At that moment, the president stepped through the curtain and onto the stage. His footsteps echoed across the raised, wooden platform, drowned out by the thunderous applause of his executive staff. The elves in trench coats remained silent.

Friday, June 16, 2017

"Deep Dark" by Laura Griffin [Review]

Deep Dark (Tracers, #10)Deep Dark by Laura Griffin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a difficult novel to review. There were some things that were absolutely awesome, and some other things that were absolutely awful. Together, they add up to a decent novel.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Shakespeare Officially Made a Co-Author on Three Plays

William Shakespeare is no stranger to controversy with scholars debating whether he wrote the plays under his name or whether he partnered with someone else. There's a whole Wikipedia section on the debate. Some claim Shakespeare didn't write any of his plays. While this has been a theory among only fringe scholars up until now, Oxford University Press has waded into the fight by announcing that its new edition of The Complete Works of William Shakespeare will credit Christopher Marlowe as a co-author on three of Shakespeare's plays.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

"Little Green Men" #2 is Now Available

I told ya I wasn't gone. The second part of the three-part series Little Green Men, "Training Day" is now online at Amazon. Here's the summary:
Jeffrey Foster is the only thing standing between Earth and total destruction from the alien armada heading right for it. First, he'll need to go through training at the Planetary Savior School, but it won't be easy. If the training doesn't kill him, the alien food will. Meanwhile, the Empire of Xenon is scouring the Galaxy to hunt him down. Will Jeffrey graduate as a full Planetary Savior? Will the Empire get to Earth first? Will Jeffrey be able to keep from strangling his annoying squadmates? 
"Little Green Men" is a three-part series of 20,000 words each, and is the second in the "Flying Saucers" trilogy. Fans of Douglas Adams, Monty Python, and "Red Dwarf" will enjoy this new series. Download the next installment today!
If you missed the first part "Better Homes and Aliens," you can still get it for 99-cents.

"My name is Timothy McGill, and I'm a time travel addict..." Time Junkie, now available in paperback and ebook formats!

Sunday, May 28, 2017

Where's Part 5 of "TOONS?"

P.T. Dilloway asked me on Twitter, and you may be wondering as well, where's the final book of TOONS? As I've said before, it's a five-part series and it's actually done. I sent him an advance copy already. Set in the cartoon world of fairy tales and fantasy, The Wonderful WonderWoods brings the anthros to their final battle to confront the Masked Executive and save the world. They also get thrown into the world of magic and fairy godmothers as well.

Its status is kind of complicated. I was going to release it on its own, but I've always intended to release TOONS as a single volume. An omnibus, "full season," collection, whatever you want to call it. I've gone back and forth on whether to release WonderWoods on its own or just release the full collection with it. I guess I'll do two releases, after all.

I'll be releasing WonderWoods on July 16th, 2017. TOONS: The Complete Series should be released two weeks later on August 1, 2017. Stay tuned for more details.

"My name is Timothy McGill, and I'm a time travel addict..." Time Junkie, now available in paperback and ebook formats!

Sample Sunday: "Toons Part 5 - The Wonderful Wonderwoods"



Today, I'll be running a sample for my as-yet unpublished fifth and final book in the TOONS series, The Wonderful WonderWoods. Set in the cartoon world of fantasy and fairy tales, Crafty Wolf finds himself lost in the forest while trying to find the Apex Factory on Sneeka Peak. Along the way, Crafty finds a frog who turns out to be an enchanted princess with some very non-traditional ideas...

Crafty asked, "So you do a lot of this sort of thing?"

The frog looked like she was about to spit at something, but stopped to look at him. "What sort of thing?"

"Well, this hanging around, all enchanted and such."

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Who (or What) is DC Lettering?

I was looking up a comic book's credits the other day, and I noted the writer, artist, inker, and letterer. On the letterer, I did a double-take, because it just said, "DC Lettering." Who's DC Lettering, I wondered? Donald Charles Lettering? Is it like the "Star Trek" writer, D.C. Fontana? Of course, the fact that the comic was made by DC Comics couldn't be a coincidence. I clicked on the link, and it turned out "DC Lettering" has been working hard for the company, because the list of credits under the name is huge. He or she must work overtime.

Sunday, January 29, 2017

"Time Junkie" is Now Available in Paperback

Did you know I have paperback copies of some of my books? Not a lot of them, because it's way harder to self-publish a book for print, but there's a couple. Well, there are a couple now. I've just released the paperback edition of my novel, Time Junkie.

Also, I just realized that I forgot to make an official announcement about the updated cover. So if you didn't see it in the sidebar, here it is.

The Kindle digital edition is still available here. Here's the summary:
"My name is Timothy McGill, and I'm a time travel addict." 
Timothy was just a frustrated teenager until he stumbled across krono, a new drug which sent him back in time while he tripped out. From the moment he first tries it, Timothy begins a downward spiral into crime and corruption, all while living through the moments that led to his addiction. Explore his funny and emotional journey as Tim explores his past while trying to grapple with the present and determine his future. Fans of Kurt Vonnegut will enjoy this mind-bending novel. Download it today!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...